Our Board Of Directors


Shoaib Sultan Khan is one of the pioneers of rural development programmes in Pakistan. As a CSP Officer, he worked with the Government of Pakistan for 25 years, later on he served Geneva based Aga Khan Foundation for 12 years, then UNICEF and UNDP for 14 years. Since his retirement, he has been involved with the Rural Support Programmes (RSPs) of Pakistan full-time, on voluntary basis. Today,[when?] the Rural Support Programmes have helped form 297,000 community organisations in 110 districts including two Federally Administered Tribal Areas of Pakistan.

He has received the United Nations Environment Programme Global 500 Award in 1989, the Sitara-i-Imtiaz in 1990, the Ramon Magsaysay Award in 1992, the WWF Duke of Edinburgh Conservation Award in 1994, “Man of the Year” Rotary International (Pakistan) Gold Medal in 2005, Sitara-e-Eisaar and Hilal-i-Imtiaz by the President of Pakistan in 2007. In 2009 he was elected as Senior Ashoka Fellow. He has written numerous research papers and books.

In 2009, he was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize for “Unleashing the power and potential of the poor”.

SRSP 21 members BoD is responsible for setting strategic direction & developing guiding policies. The Board is a balance mix of representatives from public and private institutions, press/intelligentsia, academia, agriculture and industries. Implementation of SRSP’s strategies and policy initiatives are delegated to the CEO supported by core management, while field teams are responsible for operations and implementation of activities.

Munawar Humayun Khan is the Chairperson of SRSP

She has 15 years of experience working with people at grass roots for empowerment and poverty reduction. She is on the Board of many other not-for-profit organizations including: Pakistan Center for Philanthropy (PCP), Dost – Drug Rehabilitation Center, Ghazi Barotha Taraqiati Idara and the Rural Support Programmes Network (RSPN). She also Chairs the Board of Directors of Agribusiness Support Fund (ASF).

Col ® Alam Zeb Khan

Vice Chairman

Mr. Alam Zeb has rich experience of more than 45 years in the fields of public sector development, project management and dealing with donor funded projects in various capacities. As an eminent civil servant, he was tasked to bring in improvements and innovations in departments like Education, Forest, Planning and Development, Power sector development, etc. in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. During his engagement in various positions he has been dealing with planning, management, monitoring and execution of large scale development projects in the country/province. He is also on Board of other organizations including Women Medical College Abbottabad, Pakistan Academy for Rural Development, WAPDA, Pakistan Environmental Foundation and others.

Dr. Parveen Azam Khan


Dr. Parveen Azam Khan has dedicated her life to treatment and rehabilitation of disadvantaged, vulnerable and stigmatized groups living on the margins of society. Creating “Dost Welfare Foundation” in 1992, she has reached out to drug addicts in streets, prisons and community in order to facilitate their reintegration into society. Dr Parveen Azam Khan’s nomination for Nobel Peace Prize 2005 is a testimony of her achievements. She has also received Tamghe Imtiaz from President of Pakistan for her outstanding achievement and unmatchable dedication for rehabilitation of drug addicts of Pakistan in 2004.

Mr. Muhammad Azam Khan


Mr. Mohammad Azam Khan, a graduate of prestigious Lincoln’s Inn, is the ex Chief Secretary (1990-93) and one of the founding members of SRSP. He is a leading a philanthropist in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and remained Minister for Finance, Planning & Development KPK from October 24, 2007 to April 1, 2008. Currently he is caretaker minister for Interior, Capital Administration and Development Division, Ministry of Narcotics and Inter Provincial Coordination. He has been on various Boards and Steering Committees including RSPN, IIMI, Pakistan Tobacco Company, CERD, IKF, NODMC, and others.

Mr. Niamatullah Abid


A renowned development activist. He also serves on Board of national and provincial organizations. He has also worked at prestigious position of Accountant General of Pakistan. Currently he heads the finance committee of Board of Directors, SRSP.

Mr. Muhammad Ayaz Khan


He is a civil engineer by profession and has worked with national and international organizations nationally and internationally. Recently he was an infrastructure advisor with Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and European Union’s Community Driven Local Development initiative. As an eminent and seasoned engineer, he advises the Board and CEO on infrastructure related issues at SRSP.

Mr. Mian Javed


He is a progressive agriculturist and leading philanthropist of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Mr. G. M . Yousafzai


He is a progressive agriculturist and leading philanthropist of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Other Members include

  • Secretary Planning & Development Department Govt of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

  • Director General Special Development Unit

  • Director General Pakistan Academy of Rural Development Peshawar

  • Vice Chancellor Agriculture University Peshawar

Translate ยป